Allergy Advice & Health Conditions


Gluten Free

Gluten is a protein found in wheat, rye, barley, spelt and other grains. In gluten free products, wheat flour is replaced by rice flour, tapioca, buckwheat, coconut, ground almonds and other naturally gluten free ingredients.


Coeliac disease affects 1 in 100 people in the UK and Ireland. It is a condition causing some people to react to gluten. The only treatment is adhering to a gluten-free diet for life. In addition, there are also people who are not coeliac but have an intolerance to gluten and/or wheat and a small number who are allergic to wheat. Furthermore a growing number of people are choosing free from products, not just because they are gluten or wheat intolerants, but because they wish to improve their general health and well-being. 


Products Include

- Gluten Free Sponge

- Gluten Free Brownies

- Gluten Free Muffin (can be used as a mix for Birthday Cakes)


See ‘Product Allergy Guidelines’ for further details

Wheat Free

People with Wheat Allergies/Wheat Intolerance are not allergic to the gluten in the wheat flour but to the wheat flour itself causing hay fever like symptoms.


Many people who have wheat allergies have no problem with Spelt Flour as a substitute to normal wheat flour. 


Spelt Flour is a distant relation to the modern regular Wheat Flour but has a different make up containing different proteins and characteristics. Many people who have Wheat Allergies have no problem with Spelt Flour as a replacement. Spelt does contain gluten but as it has different characteristics some people with mild gluten intolerance can take it in small or even large quantities.


Products Include

- Spelt Soda

- Spelt Pie

- Spelt Madeira (Birthday Cake)

- Spelt & honey Bread


See ‘Product Allergy Guidelines’ for further details

Dairy Free

A person who is lactose intolerant has an allergy to the sugar lactose found in milk and milk based products. As dairy is used a lot in the bakery industry and it is hard to find a recipe that does not contain dairy in some form or another (e.g. milk powder, buttermilk etc.). Our regular sponge cake does not have dairy in the ingredients list and when coupled with dairy free buttercream provides an alternative to our regular fresh cream birthday sponges.


Products Include

- Sponge with a Dairy Free Buttercream

- B/c Doughnuts

- Apple Pies

- Most Yeasted Breads e.g. spelt and honey etc. Wheaten breads, sodas and pancakes contain dairy.


See ‘Product Allergy Guidelines’ for further details


Egg Free

A person who has an egg allergy has a hypersensitivity to substances in the egg white and to a lesser extent the egg yolk. Egg is used in the bakery as an emulsifier, for aeration in cakes and for glazing some products. Egg use in the bakery is mainly used in confectionary and so most breads would be egg free.


Products Include

- Breads (Wheaten, Spelt, Crusty, Batch etc)

- Rice Krispy Buns/cakes

- Egg free Sponge (longer ordering time required, 4-5 day’s notice)


See ‘Product Allergy Guidelines’ for further details

Yeast Free

A person with yeast intolerance lacks certain chemicals/enzymes that are needed to digest both bakers and brewer’s yeast. This can cause a range of symptoms such as bloating, which can be mild or more severe. 


Yeast is used in the bakery as a rising agent in breads and to a lesser extent in some confectionary products. It works by feeding off natural sugars in the flour which gives off carbon dioxide. This when coupled with the gluten structure of the dough, causes the bread to rise. 


Our Morning goods (Wheaten bread, sodas, scones, farls etc.) don’t use yeast as a rising agent. .


Products Include

- Morning Goods (all wheatens, plain and fruit soda, treacle, scones, farls, potato bread, pancakes, sausage rolls etc)

- Madeira Cakes

- Sponge Cakes

- Eclairs, turnovers, puff pastry, queen cakes, biscuit cake, gingerbread men, muffins, tartlets


See ‘Product Allergy Guidelines’ for further details

Alcohol

The following products do contain alcohol:


- Bailey’s sponges

- Cherry Gateaux (can be requested without alcohol)

- Peach Snapp Gateaux (can be requested without alcohol)

- Rich fruit cakes (not Dundee)

- Traditional Christmas Pudding

- Bailey’s cheesecakes (other flavours available)


See ‘Product Allergy Guidelines’ for further details

Allergy Advice Notes

While a lot of people may say they are looking for a wheat/Dairy/Egg/Yeast Free product etc it does not necessarily mean they have an allergy or intolerance to that particular ingredient, (It is estimated that approx. 5-6% of people have true Food Allergies), but instead have chosen to eliminate that ingredient from their diet for a healthier lifestyle.  


The main allergen we see in the bakery is the gluten found in wheat flours. Flour is the main ingredient used in most of our product lines. While some people will say they are looking for a wheat free bread etc enquire whether they are a celiac or are they looking to remove wheat flour from their diet. Celiac disease is the most severe form of wheat/gluten allergy, with some people having serious symptoms and others with mild symptoms. 


Celiacs in should not take any product containing gluten. 


For others who wish to remove wheat from their diet suggest Spelt as an alternative, as a lot of people who have an allergy to modern wheat flour have found that spelt flour causes no negative symptoms. 


If you are unsure of anything or wish to double check anything, contact either the office or the bakery and we will do the best to help you give information.

Product Allergy Guidelines

Breads   Gluten Free  Wheat Free Dairy Free Egg Free Yeast Free  Alcohol Free 
Wheaten Bread, Pl Soda, Fr Soda, Ginger Wh, etc x x
x



Scones
x
x        
Spelt Soda x x      
Spelt & Honey x x  
Combicorn x x x
Crustys  x x x 
Traditional & Rolls x x x   x
Batch x x


x
Rich Fruit Brack x x

x

 

 

Cakes  Gluten
Free
Wheat
Free
Dairy
Free
Egg
Free
Yeast
Free
Alcohol
Free 
Madeira x x x x

Spelt Madeira  x x x

F/c Sponge  x
x
x x

B/c Sponge x
x
x

Baileys Sponge x
x
x

x
Fudges x
x
x
x


Small Cakes x
x
x
x


Pavlova 

x x


Meringue Nests

x
x

Gateaux x
x
x
x

White Gateaux x
x
x
x

Carrot Cake x
x
x
x 
Rich Fruit Cake x
x
x x x
Dundee Cake x
x
x
x

 

Confectionary Gluten
Free
Wheat
Free
Dairy
Free
Egg
Free
Yeast
Free
Alcohol
Free 
Queen Cakes x x x x

Biscuit Cakes x x x x

Gingerbread Men x
x

x

Muffins x
x
x
x

Viennese x
x


Fruit Tartlet x
x
x
x


F/c Doughnut x
x
x

x

B/c Doughnut x
x


x

F/c Eclair x
x
x
x

Turnovers x
x
x
x

 


Gluten
Free
Wheat
Free
Dairy
Free
Egg
Free
Yeast
Free
Alcohol
Free 
Pancakes x
x
x
x

Potato Bread x
x



Sausage Rolls x
x
x


Apple Pies x
x

x


Puff Tarts x
x

x


Spelt Pies x


x

 

Gluten Free
Products
Gluten
Free
Wheat
Free
Dairy
Free
Egg
Free
Yeast
Free
Alcohol
Free 
G.F. Brownie

x
x

G.F. Muffin

x
x

G.F. Sponge

x



If someone has an allergy to a particular ingredient and it may not be listed on the label of our product, this doesn’t always mean that the product may not contain traces of this ingredient. The risk of cross contamination always exists and while we do take precautions, we cannot give a 100% guarantee that our product doesn’t contain, for example nuts, as they are used in other recipes.